Conduct & Discipline

  • Home -
  • Conduct & Discipline


● National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC)

National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) is an autonomous body established by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India to assess and accredit institutions of higher education in the country. It is an outcome of the recommendations of the National Policy in Education (1986) which laid special emphasis on upholding the quality of higher education in India.

It conducts assessment and accreditation of Higher Educational Institutions (HEI) such as colleges, universities or other recognised institutions to derive an understanding of the ‘Quality Status’ of the institution. NAAC evaluates the institutions for its conformance to the standards of quality in terms of its performance related to the educational processes and outcomes, curriculum coverage, teaching-learning processes, faculty, research, infrastructure, learning resources, organization, governance, financial well being and student services.

Institutions are graded for each Key Aspect under four categories, viz. A, B, C and D, denoting Very good, Good, Satisfactory and Unsatisfactory levels respectively. The summated score for all the Key Aspects under a Criterion is then calculated with the appropriate weightage applied to it and the GPA is worked out for the Criterion. The Cumulative GPA (CGPA), which gives the final Assessment Outcome, is then calculated from the seven GPAs pertaining to the seven criteria, after applying the prescribed weightage to each Criterion.

NAAC's process of assessment is towards holistic, systematic, objective, data-based, transparent and shared experience for institutional improvement. The process for assessment and accreditation broadly consists of:

  • Preparation of Self-study Report (SSR), and uploading on the college website prior to submission of LOI.
  • On-line submission of the Letter of Intent (LOI).
  • On-line submission of Institutional Eligibility for Quality Assessment (IEQA) for applicable institutions.
  • Submission of Hard Copies of SSR
  • Peer team visits the institution.
  • Final decision by NAAC
  • Criteria: NAAC scores are based on the following criteria

  • Curricular Aspects
  • Teaching-Learning and Evaluation
  • Research, Consultancy and Extension
  • Infrastructure and Learning Resources
  • Student Support and Progression
  • Governance, Leadership and Management
  • Innovations and Best Practices
  • There are two outcomes of Assessment and Accreditation:

  • Peer Team Report The qualitative part of the outcome is called Peer Team Report (PTR) which is an objective report prepared by the Team highlighting its evaluative judgements, mostly using precise keywords instead of long sentences
  • Institutional Grading The quantitative part of the outcome comprises the criterion-wise quality assessment, resulting in the final Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA), a letter grade and a performance descriptor. The CGPA and letter grade constitute the certification by the NAAC on institutional accreditation.
  • Samastipur College, Samastipur was given an Institutional Grade of B with CGPA 2.59 (Cumulative Grade Point Average) in 2014 (2nd cycle), Under the aegis of Honorable VC of LNMU and guidance of Principal, Samastipur College, Samastipur, NAAC and IQAC team of Samastipur College is working to have better grading in future assessments.

    Student Satisfaction Survey Report(2021-22)- Click Here

    NAAC Website-